Daily Dose of Sports

IPL 2018: Every Team Captain and Their History



IPL 2018 is around the corner of the calendar. In this post, I have minimized your searching effort and listing out the short history of all the IPL captains, this year.

A captain is the main key to a team. A captain is referred as the skipper of the team. He is the Alpha. A Captain’s knowledge of cricket may contribute to team’s success.

Before the match starts the captains of both the team does the toss b/w heads and tails. The winner of the toss is given a chance to select whether they wanna bowl or wanna bat. It depends on the captain, he chooses according to their team and ground and conditions.

Let’s a have a look at The Indian Premier League 11 captains and their histories.


8. David Warner – Sunrisers Hyderabad


In the starting of Indian Premier League 11 auction, Sunrisers Hyderabad retained their gold, Mario also was known as David Warner.

In his IPL career, he has won Orange Cap once. He is on the list of highest paid Australian players. In both 2016 and 2017, his performances were adorable. In 2016 he scored 848 runs and not only won the orange cap award but also the Indian premier league title for his team.

He is a great Captain. He made Sunrisers Hyderabad a successful team and we all gotta accept this fact. In his all over the career, he scored 4014 runs (114 matches) with an average of 40.54, and it’s really great.


7. Ravichandran Ashwin- Kings XI Punjab


If there’s a cricketer who is a gift to the Indian cricket then it gotta be Ravichandran Ashwin. He started his Indian Premier League Career in 2009 under the captain who is the coolest captain in the world Mahendra Singh Dhoni and hope this year we’ll see the thing that Ravichandran Ashwin has learned from Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Ravichandra Ashwin has always been a major and tremendous player for the respective teams he has been in. But he never ever got a chance to show how great captain he is.

But this time he is getting it. This year Brad Hodge would be the coach of Kings XI Punjab. In 2016 Ravichandran Ashwin completed his 100th wickets against Kings XI Punjab. By seeing kings XI Punjab we can say that they are a strong contender to win Indian Premier League 2018 if they do then Ashwin’s career would completely be changed.

6. Steve Smith – Rajasthan Royals


Smudge also known as Steve Smith started off his Indian premier league career back in 2010 when he was picked by Royal Challengers Banglore. In 2011 he has sorted to Kochi Tuskers Kerala but due to injury, he could not play the tournament.

He played for Pune Warriors in 2012 and later played for Rajasthan Royals in 2014 and 2015.He never looked back and kept on winning hearts.

In the upcoming Indian Premier League season, we are going to see Steve Smith back in the blue jersey. Hope we will get to see his switch hits and maybe Rajasthan Royals wins the race.

5. Gautam Gambhir-Delhi Daredevils


Gautam Gambhir is one of the best Captains in Indian Premier League history and also a successful player. In 2011 Indian premier league season he was picked by Kolkata Knight Riders and was appointed as their Captain.

Since Gautam Gambhir became Captain the graph of Kolkata has always gone uphill. He made his team win two Indian premier league trophies in 2012 and 2014 but still, he is yet to score a century.

In the starting of Indian premier league 2018 auction, he was picked up by Delhi Daredevil and is now their Captain. People have expectations of him. Hope he will fill all of ’em.

4. Dinesh Karthik – Kolkata Knight Riders


Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik is an Indian premier league veteran and it won’t be wrong to call him a game-changing player. He has proved several times that he is a veteran, Playing since 2008. Last year he scored 361 runs at a strike rate of over 139. He has an ability to score big.

He is also a tremendous wicket-keeper. On 27 January Dinesh Karthik was picked by Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs.7.60 crore and was appointed as their Captain. He has a huge chance to prove that he is not only a great player but also a great Captain.

3. Virat Kohli-Royal Challengers Bangalore


The Indian Cricket team’s Captain, also known as the run machine, Virat Kohli’s hunger and dedication to scoring 100 centuries had taken Indian team uphill. Ranked #1 in One-day internationals,#2 in test cricket and #3 in T20s.

In 2008 Virat Kohli the run machine was picked by Royal challengers Banglore which was maybe their best decision.

In the auction of Indian premier league, 2018 Kohli was retained by Royal challengers Banglore. It was their first strategy in the auction of Indian Premier League 2018.

I mean why would any team release their gold? In each and every season of Indian premier league, Royal challengers Banglore had the best Squad but still, they couldn’t get the trophies.

This year Virat Kohli would be looking after the Indian premier league title. He would be concentrating on winning the Indian premier league title and hope they do so.

2. Rohit Sharma-Mumbai Indians


Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful players in the Indian premier league history and also a God gifted batsman. He has scored over 4000 runs in his Indian Premier League career.

He has a hat-trick to his name. Rohit Sharma was picked by Deccan Chargers in 2008. In 2009 Indian premier league season he became the vice Captain of Deccan Chargers franchise.

He is the only Captain in the IPL history to make his team win the IPL title thrice. At Indian Premier League season 2013, he proved that he is an awesome Captain.Till the quarterfinals, Mumbai Indians were on second last position under the captaincy of Cricket legend Ricky Ponting.

Later, they made Rohit Captain and he made his team win the Indian premier league title. In the 2018 Indian Premier League auction he was retained by Mumbai Indians, his team is looking strong enough to break records again, Would love to see ’em do that again.

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings


Distinctly Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the most successful Captain in the Indian premier league history. Even though Rohit Sharma made his team win 3 Indian premier league titles but don’t forget Chennai Super Kings were under suspension for last 2 years.

In the Indian premier league, 2018 auction Chennai Super Kings retained their diamond Mahendra Singh Dhoni and appointed him as their Captain. Captain Cool led his team to 2 Indian premier league wins (2010 and 2011) and Two Champions league titles (2010 and 2014).

He has scored over three thousand runs in his Indian premier league history. His team is the most favorite to win the Indian premier league title this year and by seeing their squad we can say that they would surely be on top this year.

Therefore, That’s all from me. This year’s Indian Premier League (IPL 2018 aka IPL 11 ) season is gonna be just awesome. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings are also back now. Their suspension is over. They would surely lead to the quarterfinals.

If we did anything wrong or you have better ideas then please tell us in the comment section.


Shantanu Sharma is one of the leading writers on the Cricket category, also the guy who knows more about indie Pro Wrestling News than the rest in the team. Arguably his articles receive the most number of hits and he is an engaging hard worker! Elegant and passionate!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: