Daily Dose of Sports

IPL 2018 Final: Chennai Super Kings wins, Complete IPL 2018 Winners/Awards List

Chennai Super Kings were banned in 2015. Ever since then the home crowd and the Chennai Super Kings fans wanted to see their team back and win the cup back from the recurring champions. For them, this year’s IPL is chicken dinner! Chennai pairs with Mumbai Indians with 3 IPL titles wins (2010,2011 and 2018 consecutively).

Outstanding performance from Shane Watson, his second century of the season which came at the right time. Big names like Rashid Khan, didn’t get any wickets in their overs, even though their spell was economical.

While the squad is getting ready for the run, Dhoni and Raina remained calm until the moment comes, a worth mentioning moment from captain cool. Congratulations, for CSK coming into the final for the 7th time and winning it for the 3rd time. Kane Williamson did a wonderful job in this season, managing the team and focusing on his batting. Nevertheless, of the performance, the best team out of two won.

IPL 2018 Complete Awards / Winners List:

1. Most Emerging Player – Rishabh Pant
2. Paytm Fair Play Award – Mumbai Indians
3. Perfect Catch of the Season – Trent Bolt
3. Super Striker of the Season – Sunil Narine
4. Stylish Plater of the Season – Rishabh Pant
5. Innovative Thinking Award – Ms Dhoni
6. Purple Cap (Most Wickets) – Andrew Tye (24 wickets)
7. Orange Cap – Kane Williamson (735 runs)
8. Most Valuable Player – Sunil Narine

CSK vs SRH – Match Breakdown:

Dhoni holding cup in IPL 2018

Sunrisers Hyderabad started gaining momentum, with the wicket of Williamson, the squad had good performance from Yousof Pathan and a shot gun performance from Carlos Brathwaite. They were able to brag 178 runs.

With 179 runs needed, Faf Du Plesis and Shane Watson entered the pitch, Faf departed early while Watson was playing the snake in the grass game, with 205 strike rate, Williamson got a most deserving century. Raina walked away before the thrid umpire’s review for the tip catch, good sportsman spirit from that man. Sandeep’s over got the 27 runs, the worst over of the innings and one the biggest reason why Sunrisers lost the game today. After that over, it was all Chennai Super Kings.

What’s Next ?

Next year, David Warner will be back to Sunrisers most probably and will be teaming up with Williamson and team. Sunrisers don’t want to miss a classic captain like Williamson.

On the other hand, players like Jadega remain as doubt, whether he will be selected next year. Watson and Rayudu will be retained by Chennai Super Kings considering their performance this season.

As another season winds up, we will have to wait another year for IPL 12/ IPL 2019. This season was good, I would like to mention some moments that are worth mentioning:

1. Bolts catch.
2. ABD Villiers catch.
3. Virat Kholi’s catch.
4. Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hydrebad first meeting.
5. Russell’s wicket by Rashid Khan.

Once again, congratulations to Chennai Super Kings.


One of the founder of SportsFast and also the web designer of SportsFast, He writes WWE articles and occasionally Cricket related stuff too. He basically focuses on Website marketing and looking to expand SportsFast as much as possible. Creative and Intelligent!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: